Scholarship Descriptions and Applications — TEL Majors and Minors

Posted: November 8, 2010 by IUsec in Scholarships

Applications are now available for scholarships and/or fellowships, ranging from $500 to $1500, for Telecommunications students enrolled at IU for Spring 2011. 

Application forms and descriptions of each scholarship/fellowship are available at the Department of Telecommunications web site,

Deadline for application is Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at 4:00 p.m.  LATE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED.  Awards will be recognized at the MultiVisions conference on April 1, 2011.  Please see the application forms for eligibility requirements and further details.

Brief descriptions of scholarships and fellowships:


The Donald E. Agostino Memorial Scholarship of $1000 is presented to a junior or senior Telecommunications major who is outstanding as a scholar, exhibits curiosity for learning across a wide range of interests and has participated in leadership and service opportunities while attending IU.  

LeRoy Bannerman Scholarship  This $500 scholarship is available to a telecommunications major or minor demonstrating innovative use of audio in traditional or new media.

The Fred Brewer Scholarship is a $500 award available to a telecommunications major or minor demonstrating innovative use of video graphics in traditional electronic or new media.

The Tom and Jay Darragh Conference Support Scholarship/Fellowship provides up to $500 to support student (undergraduate or graduate Telecommunications major) travel to an industry trade show or conference.  Preference will be given to students pursuing an interest in Telecommunications management or Telecommunications policy.

Rolland Johnson Scholarship is for $500 and is given to undergraduate majors in Telecommunications concentrating on industry and management studies.  Criteria include excellent scholarship plus demonstrated commitment to a management or programming career in telecommunications.

Lee Norvelle Scholarship/Fellowship $1500 is presented to a student who has proven financial need and demonstrated high academic and creative achievement.  Applicants must be telecommunications majors with at least 56 hours but no more than 105 hours, or a graduate student working toward a degree in Telecommunications.

Donald Abbott Rushton Memorial Scholarship  Preference will be given to students focusing on program directing in the Department of Telecommunications.  This scholarship is for $500.

Sheehan Memorial Scholarship  All IU Bloomington students enrolled in the Department of Telecommunications are eligible to apply for this $500, presented to the student demonstrating creativity in the production process.  Works created in the department receive priority.

Jennifer Byrne Shull Scholarship/Fellowship  $500 is presented to a female (senior or graduate) student majoring in Telecommunications who has distinguished herself in scholarship and service to the Department and to the University.


Comments are closed.